Panama

I had flight credit that was to expire on June 1st, so on May 31st I booked a flight to Panama for this past week to visit a friend from school. I hadn’t seen my friend, Gabriela, in over a year, so it was great to finally catch up. Being surrounded my Spanish again was refreshing, although after spending nine months in Spain I now realize how different the Spanish of Latin America really can be in comparison.

We did all the staples: Panama Viejo, Panama Canal, Casco Viejo, the Causeway. I met a bunch of cool people, heard some really interesting stories, actually learned a lot about the history and progress Panama has made over recent years, and of course ate tons of delicious food (often all simultaneously). We also drove 3 hours up north and inland to Santiago for Patronales, a 4 day fair full of music, drinking, (more) food, and horses. I like to call it a cultural experience. Because this took up a chunk of my visit, we did run out of time for all of trips we’d hoped to do – saving some for the next time I come around.

Looks like my summer, or year rather, of travel has just about come to a close. Hard to believe…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_9123

DSC_0004

IMG_9144

IMG_9160

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_9198

DSC_0006

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_9258

IMG_9262

IMG_9269

DSC_0014

DSC_0020

DSC_0026

DSC_0037

IMG_9279

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

DSC_0050

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0067

DSC_0074

IMG_9330

DSC_0090

DSC_0095

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

