Westward

I’m losing track of days and time, especially because we keep gaining hours the farther west we move. I was in Nebraska until this morning, although it seems like longer ago. We left Iowa yesterday with happy stomachs (as mentioned, forever excited & content by hotel buffet breakfasts). We planned on walking around Omaha, but it was raining so we opted for a quick drive through. It looked cool and I do have a couple friends living there that would’ve been nice to see, but I’m leaving everything up to Beau. Or trying to, at least.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

We got back on I-80 to head to Lincoln for lunch. The two of us were very pleasantly surprised by this little capital city. By the time we arrived the rain had stopped. We went directly to a vegetarian cafe called Maggie’s for lunch. We’ve been making some really great finds as far as restaurants go. Lincoln itself appeared to be rich with culture and art. I’m not sure what I found so special about it, but it felt unique and was full of cool, low-key shops. It also helped that I wasn’t exactly expecting much. Beau and I roamed for about 2 hours before returning to his car to head to Kearney for the night. Kearney was what outsiders perceive as all of Nebraska, I think. No harm intended, just Google search. We did find an awesome Thai place, though.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_8085 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

From Nebraska we left on I-80/Route 30 (Lancaster Ave.!) for Wyoming. Grandma Jo’s in Sidney, Nebraska was enjoyed for lunch. Full of nothing but friendly people and .85 cent coffee. Wouldn’t have been a Midwest drive had we not gotten caught in a hail storm, later discovering there was a tornado warning. Eventually made it to Cheyenne in one piece. I suppose because of the storms the temperatures dropped a ton because it’s entirely too cold for June – about 45 degrees…For that, I treated myself to a fresh from Colorado fish dinner. I lasted about 10 minutes walking around outside afterwards.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_8134 IMG_8135 IMG_8136 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_8145

 

