Cross Country Chronicles

I-80 has been our go to route. From Macungie, Pennsylvania we set out west toward Ohio. We made several stops to break up the long day of driving (which Beau did all of seeing as my stick-shift lessons have yet to happen…). Our lunch break was at a fine Subway in Emlenton, PA. I sat down to enjoy my salad in the sun. It began to rain. Beau captured the moment – it gave us a good laugh. Once in Ohio, we took a walking break at Cuyahoga National Park. It was a beautiful day, and it felt great to be wandering underneath the heat of the sun. Not to mention the park was super cool.

We originally planned on making it to Ann Arbor by yesterday night, but we decided to spend the night in Cleveland to break up the travel. We stayed at a small hotel in Middleburg Heights. After a comfortable nights rest, we had another early morning. Beau read about Lucky’s Cafe online, so we gave it a shot for breakfast. Apparently it was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, and it most certainly did not disappoint. Beau ordered the Shipwrack, and I had the Canoewreck – curried tofu with potatoes and vegetables, fresh toast and fruit on the side. We also explored the Tremont area, Lincoln Park, the Historic District. To be honest, there wasn’t too much around. We did however discover on the drive to breakfast that Tremont is where the home in Christmas Story is located! Although I did not actually see it, I was still pretty excited. I had no idea the holiday classic was filmed there.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_7888 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We eventually made our way out to Ann Arbor via a handful of Interstates. Despite the rain, Beau and I really enjoyed this precious city. We met up with his friend from Nova. We had a delicious dinner at the Jolly Pumpkin (the warm artichoke & pepper, feta goat cheese w/ hummus spread sandwich, salad on the side probably could not have been any more up my alley). Shared some beers at Bill’s Beer Garden. Tomorrow we head to Chicago. I’ve been before, but only spent time in the Evanston and Lincoln Park area. I hear so many great things about this city, so I’m hoping to explore a bit more. We’ll see!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
IMG_7931

I do have pictured from my Nikon, as well. For now the iPhone photos will have to suffice.

