My Little Taste of Fall…or Heaven

Last nights dinner consisted of stuffed cabbage rolls, inspired by Kath Eats.  I changed up the recipe a bit, using quinoa instead of brown rice, and replacing some of the veggies she used with ones that I had on hand – white mushrooms, corn, and carrots – and threw in pepper, curry powder, coriander, and a tiny sprinkle of salt because I opted out of melting cheese over the top (had I not basically eaten a bowl of cheese for lunch, luckily with delish vegetables underneath, I definitely would have included some).  Over top we put homemade sauce made simply with chopped tomatoes, garlic, and some spices.  I’ll be honest, I didn’t absolutely love it, nor did I hate it, though.  I do think with some cheese on top it would be much yummier. We have a decent amount of leftovers which I picked at just before, and it tasted a lot better once all the flavors had meshed together.

This morning for breakfast, I put together pumpkin banana oatmeal.  If you were to put amazing and autumn into a bowl, this would be it.  I have a tendency to just eyeball ingredients, so I’m not sure how much pumpkin I used.  But all I did was bring a small amount of water to a boil on the stove (I prefer a thicker texture), added 1/4 cup of Quaker Oats and waited until some of the water had been absorbed.  I then added a little less than half of a large banana and whipped it into the oats, giving them an even thicker and creamier quality.  After adding some cinnamon, I threw in a large scoop of pumpkin puree as well as pumpkin pie spice…and whipped some more.  Once they were cooked to my desired consistency, I spooned them it into a large cup, scooped on a few dollops of vanilla Chobani, chopped up the rest of the banana, and tossed on one date, two walnuts (broken up), and pumpkin seeds (pepitas).  I will definitely be making this again soon, to say the least…perhaps tomorrow…
I warmed up for my interval workout today with 2 minutes of jumping rope.  I then completed a BodyRock workout before finishing off with a 1 minute jump rope cool down.  I love these circuits.  I’ve been doing them for a few years now and they’ve ranked as some of my favorites.  Absolutely worth a try if you’ve never taken a crack at them!
Off to the supermarket with mama…
