Healthy Eggplant Parm

Yesterday afternoon, as a snack before work, I melted some muenster cheese on three stalks of celery and plopped some cut up cherries and raspberries on top….Anything with cheese 🙂  It was super easy to make – I simply melted the cheese under the broiler – and just as easy to scarf down…

For dinner, I packed myself a healthy eggplant parm that my mom whipped up.  We needed to use one of our containers of cottage cheese up before it expired, so she substituted ricotta with cottage cheese, which she then mixed with some parmesan for a slightly bolder taste.  This mixture was then layered between sliced eggplant and chopped tomatoes.  So simple and great for experimenting with different variations (add ins, such as basil, salt, pepper, etc.)!  I placed mine on one slice of ciabatta that I smeared with avocado.  Since I didn’t want to get hungry after only having a small sandwich, which would result in snacking on something like fries, I included extra on the side to munch at, as well as some cooked spinach and carrots.

And last, but definitely not least, breakfast (which I happen to be eating now) for this morning.  I whipped up another batch of overnight oats last night.  Mixed in 1/4 cup of oats, a bit of almond milk, about 2-3 tbsp of nonfat vanilla Chobani, half of a ripe banana, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice.  I stirred it all up so that the small pieces of banana were nearly blended.  Covered it up for the night in the fridge and voila!  A scrumptious breakfast!  Added cherries, blueberries, a few raisins, a tiny bit more banana, and some almonds and walnuts before polishing off.  And all paired up with my morning coffee (prepared in the one and only “Got Cheese?” mug…I don’t like cheese, can you tell?), it’s an all around appealing breakfast if ya ask me.
There’s something about eating out of a large cup or mug that makes it more fun…
