Dinners Galore

I had to go babysit on Saturday night, so I threw together a nice mixed salad for myself using some of the previous night’s leftovers.  I tossed in some cucumber, celery, chopped tomato, peas, blueberries, sunflower seeds, a dollop of cottage cheese, and about three tablespoons of an avocado chickpea mash that I had made for my mom and me the night before.  Finished off with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, this was a tasty and refreshing salad on a hot evening.

 

And, of course, my family (or I should say my mom and I) don’t go very long without making this meal.  A cauliflower crust pizza with spinach, tomato, kalamata olives, and feta.  I also made a slice for myself that had smoked gouda on it…I have a bit of an obsession with this cheese recently…So delicious.

When we make this, it doesn’t come out very pizza like.  In my opinion, one of the most appetizing characteristics of any pizza is all that melty cheese on the top.  It’s not healthy to go too crazy on this ingredient, though, so in order to avoid overloading on it, we typically lessen the amount in the “crust”.  The cheese mixed into the cauliflower acts as a binder for the entire mash, so adding less results in a softer, more sloppy version.  Don’t let those two words deter you from subtracting some cheese, though – it still tastes amazing.  If you’re pesto fans like we are, definitely add in some basil to the crust – this will give it an almost pesto-like taste.  Between three of us (unfortunately, my dad chose to stay away from this veggie concoction), we polished this baby off within no time.

