Loving Home-cooked Meals

Cooking my food is something I really miss being able to do being away at school.  Dining hall food isn’t exactly gourmet, and while Nova’s definitely could be worse, I know I’m not getting the most fresh and health-conscious variety of ingredients.  That said, I’m take advantage of making my own concoctions while at home.
Surprised  to see my breakfast?  I think not…Although I did add a strawberry today!  I don’t always enjoy them unless they’re “perfect,” and this batch definitely falls into that category – so tasty!

I redeemed myself today with a great lunch!  I was so disappointed yesterday, but last night my mom and I went out to pick up some groceries and brought home some of our mealtime essentials.  I put together what I was craving yesterday, an avocado open-faced melt – this time around I piled some spinach, sprouts, tomato, and fresh mozzarella on top.  Yum!

My mom works on Mondays, so I cooked dinner for the three of us tonight.  I’ve seen quite a few recipes for an arugula and fig pizza recently, making me curious about trying one.  I figured tonight would be the perfect opportunity to throw one together.  My rendition consisted of a thin crust (unfortunately not homemade), fig jam made easily with a handful of dried figs and water, arugula, spinach, walnuts, goat cheese, and a bit of grated parmesan.  I must say I was very pleased with how it turned out.  Aside from the fact that I forgot to put a little oil on the pan so the crust wouldn’t stick, it was a delicious dinner.

