Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day!

I just got home from school on Saturday after a long week of finals.  I hate to make excuses, but I was very busy preparing for my exams and did not have much time to go out and get my mom something for her day.  Our family has always been really into homemade gifts, though.  After I got home yesterday evening, I was thinking of what I could do for her, and then the idea came.  I recently had to purchase a month subscription to Animoto, an easy video-making program for my Cultural Studies Seminar.  My month had not expired yet, so I decided I would put it to good use.  I spent some time before shutting the lights making a video for my mama – it’s great because you can add your own music, pictures, text, etc., while the program provides a variety of different layouts and styles that you can choose from.  My family is also big into humor, so obviously it was not going to be serious.  When I showed her the final product this morning, she loved it!  I felt awful for not having bought her anything, despite her being the best (I know, bias statement, but good luck trying to convince me otherwise), so I was thrilled that she enjoyed it.

My day started off with my usual breakfast: oatmeal with peanut butter, banana, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and today I also added a date.  Since coffee became my new craving this year, I had a cup on the side, as well.  My parents recently purchased a new coffee maker, and I must say it makes a great cup.  I usually drink it black or add a hint of skim milk, but today I added a few drops of soy creamer (as requested by my mom), and it made one of the best cups of coffee that I’ve ever had – not that I’m experienced with my cafe fixes.

I was really craving a sort of avocado melt for lunch, but we didn’t have much toast in the house because our refrigerator/freezer recently broke.  Instead I made an egg and loaded over it a slices of avocado and tomato, spread it with a dash of roasted red pepper hummus, and sprinkled it with pepper.  Unfortunately, it sounds and looks much better than it tasted.  I don’t mind my eggs a little runny, but this was was a bit too much for my liking.

Sometime after lunch my mom and I went for a long walk on the beach (sounds so romantic, I know).  We are so fortunate to live right by the water, and when the weather gets warm, we’re always sure to take advantage of our location.  With not a cloud in the sky and the consistent sound of crashing waves to sooth us, we spent about an hour and a half walking along the shore, picking up shells and rocks as if it were our last time, and hoarding abandoned tennis balls to add to our two pups seemingly endless collection.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any shots from this outing, but I’ll be down there plenty more times to snap some pictures.

Not too long after getting back from out walk, we started cooking dinner.  A day of celebration obviously brings a particularly delicious meal, as well.  On our menu tonight: cauliflower crust pizza, topped with an array of delicious vegetables and mouthwatering cheese.  With this, you can never go wrong.

This time around we decided to top it with zucchini, chopped tomatoes, and fresh mozzarella.  We have not mastered this cauliflower base yet as to make it more stable and crust-like, but it was still delicious nevertheless.  Between my parents and I, we polished it off within minutes – seems to be the trend whenever we have a really tasty meal.
I hope everyone had a wonderful day!

